Bihar NDA announces seat distribution for Lok Sabha polls; 5 sitting BJP MPs to make way for JD(U), LJP

File Photo:

BJP, JD(U) and LJP will contest Lok Sabha elections in Bihar together (PTI Photo)

Updated: Mar 17, 2019, 02:45 PM IST

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) leaders of Bihar on Sunday announced seat-sharing for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections. The announcement was made during a press conference at the Janata Dal (United) office in Patna.

Bihar JD (U) chief Bashishtha Narayan Singh, Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) president Pashupati Kumar Paras and Bihar BJP president Nityanand Rai addressed the presser where the three parties shared the name of the seats they will be contesting. 

According to the arrangement, the BJP will contest on Patliputra, Patna Sahib, Arrah, East Champaran, West Champaran, Sheohar, Madhubani, Darbhanga, Muzaffarpur, Maharajganj, Saran, Buxar, Sasaram, Begusarai, Araria, Aurangabad and Ujiyarpur parliamentary constituencies.

The JD (U), on the other hand, will test their fate in Purnia, Madhepura, Supaul, Kishanganj, Katihar, Siwan, Balmiki Nagar, Jhanjharpur, Sitamarhi, Gaya, Gopalganj, Munger, Banka, Bhagalpur, Nalanda , Karakat and Jahanabad Lok Sabha seats.

Lok Sabha seats of Hajipur, Vaishali, Samastipur, Jamui, Nawada and Khagadia have gone to the LJP kitty. 

The formula of seat-sharing was announced a few months ago in Delhi by BJP president Amit Shah, JD(U) national president Nitish Kumar, and LJP founder Ram Vilas Paswan.

According to the NDA seat-sharing formula, the BJP and the JD(U) will contest 17 seats each, while the remaining six would be fought by the LJP.

Bihar will see polling in seven phases. The dates of polling in Bihar are April 11, 18, 23, 29 and May 6, 12 and 19. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) won only four seats and the Congress won two. The JD-U, which contested separately, won two seats. The BJP-led NDA won 31 seats, with the former’s tally being 22.

Here is the list of the seats and which of the NDA constituent contest:

  1. Patna: BJP
  2. Patliputra: BJP
  3. Ara: BJP
  4. Buxar: BJP
  5. Saran: BJP
  6. Maharajganj: BJP
  7. Purvi champaran: BJP
  8. Paschim champaran: BJP
  9. Darbhanga: BJP
  10. Muzaffarpur: BJP
  11. Begusarai: BJP
  12. Ujiarpur: BJP
  13. Madhubani: BJP
  14. Sasaram: BJP
  15. Araria: BJP
  16. Sheohar: BJP
  17. Aurangabad..BJP
  1. Hajipur: LJP
  2. Vaishali: LJP
  3. Samastipur: LJP
  4. Nawada: LJP
  5. Khagriya: LJP
  6. Jamui: LJP
  1. Nalanda: JDU
  2. Munger: JDU
  3. Bhagalpur: JDU
  4. Karakat: JDU
  5. Gaya: JDU
  6. Jehanabad: JDU
  7. Purnia: JDU
  8. Banka: JDU
  9. Kishanganj: JDU
  10. Supaul: JDU
  11. Katihar: JDU
  12. Valmiki Nagar..JDU
  13. Siwan: JDU
  14. Gopalganj: JDU
  15. Jhanjharpur: JDU
  16. Sitamarhi: JDU
  17. Madhepura: JDU

(With ANI inputs)