In a major relief for Pakistan, the (FIH) has with a reprimand for carelessly running into a Malaysian during its last match, which means the striker is eligible to play in its crucial last Pool D match against on Sunday.
Pakistan’s campaign at the ongoing men’s went from bad to worse after the team suffered a twin blow Thursday.
While Muhammad was ruled out of the remainder of the tournament with an injury, his deputy Butt was banned for their last Pool D match against because of a serious on-field offence against Malaysia’s
The suspension was, however, revoked after appealed against it with the FIH stating that Butt’s offence was not “reckless” but a “careless” one.
The suspension was invoked on Butt after Malaysia’s lodged an official complaint with the tournament’s Technical Delegate of
While lifting the suspension, the FIH, however, warned that if Butt receives a yellow card in future matches of the tournament, the suspension can be invoked by the Technical Delegate.
“Following an incident in the 40th minute of the game between Malaysia-on December 5 had been suspended for one match by the FIH Technical Delegate. The Pakistan team had appealed against this decision,” a statement from the FIH read.
“The found the appellant, Ammad Butt, breached the Code of Conduct carelessly, but not recklessly, running into the Malaysian players. The Jury acceptedthe additional evidence that the appellant did subsequently show concern for the Malaysian player’s welfare,” the statement read.
The FIH further stated that: “is reprimanded for carelessly running into an opponent. Should Ammad Butt receive a yellow card in the remainder of the tournament, the FIH Technical Delegate is recommended to suspend him.”
Meanwhile in another good for Pakistan, the FIH had approved Arslan Qadir as injured Rizwan Senior’s in the 18-member squad for the remainder of the tournament.
“Muhammad has withdrawn from the Pakistan squad due to an The will be replaced by Arslan Qadir. Pakistan sought approval from the FIH and the request was assessed and evaluated before being approved,” the world body said.
was ruled out after the little finger of left leg during the match against
(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)
First Published: Sat, December 08 2018. 17:00 IST